You are here

Benchmarking Guidance

The Effectiveness Toolkit uses a self-rating system for each benchmark definition that is arranged in 5 levels of effectiveness as outlined below. The first 2 columns (Must have, Should have) are the ones that all organisations should meet to pass the MOT definition.

5 levels of scoring of benchmarks

Must have the legal requirements
Should have basic good practice
Good what is expected of an effective organisation
Excellent organisations that have developed their practices, systems & outcomes to a great extent
Outstanding organisations that lead the sector by their innovative activities, their ability to influence the international development agenda & their impressive outcomes

Each of the 5 columns will have a number of indicatorsdefinition against which you can assess your organisation for that benchmarkdefinition.


How do we choose which level our organisation is at for each benchmarkdefinition?

Look at each column, starting with the 'Must Have' column, and ask yourselves if those statements are true about your organisation. If they are you have achieved that level, so move across to the next column and repeat the exercise. As soon as there is a column in which you only meet some or none of the indicators, then your level is the last column in which your organisation met all the indicators.

Here’s an example:

First benchmark with no level chosen.

The overall benchmark is about the missiondefinition. Looking at the "must have" column first, decide if your organisation does or doesn’t have a mission statement. If the answer is “yes” then move to the "Should have" colomn. If you are confident that your organisation meets those indicators definition, then move to the "good" colomn. In the "good" colomn, suppose that you think that your stakeholders are aware of your mission, you know that your board, staff & volunteers strongly identify with your mission but you don’t involve your partners when you review your mission, then your organisation would score "Should Have" not "good". Even if your organisation meets one or two of the indicators higher up the scale, if it does not meet all the indicators at a lower level you can only score at that level where you meet all the indicators.

So if you think you are at the should have level (i.e. you have fullfilled all the indicators in and up to that level) you should select that level as below:

First benchmark with the 'should have' level chosen.

If your organisation does not meet the indicators in "must have", click on the "not yet achieving any indicators" box.

Don’t forget that if you struggle with this, help is available!